Tuesday, June 14, 2016

Book Review: The Morganville Vampire Series by Rachel Caine

"'Run first,' Shane said. 'Mourn later.' It was the perfect motto for Morganville."
Claire just moved to Morganville, Texas to attend college. After a nearly fatal encounter with the resident mean girl, Claire finds a place to live off campus. In her new digs, Claire learns that Morganville is a tiny town with a very big secret.
A coworker recommended I read the Morganville series because I've been in a bit of a horror rut. While I wouldn't classify Morganville as horror, it is a refreshingly new take on the vampire genre. Rachel Caine reinvents vampires and the world they share with humans is quite different from the more mainstream vampire novels. The way each characters' strengths and weaknesses motivate actions and reactions will enthrall readers. At times I despised both humans and vampires alike and that is quite rare for me. 

The romance between characters is very well done as well. Nothing too Twilight-y about it. Of course, these kids are college age so there is some immaturity to them at times which I loved. Thanks Rachel for keeping it real! Granted, there isn't much gore or thrills to really scare you but I highly recommend this series to adults and teens alike. You'll get hooked on the Morganville series just as I did! 

Here's a list of the entire series:

#1: Glass Houses
#2: The Dead Girls' Dance
#3: Midnight Alley
#4: Feast of Fools

#5: Lord of Misrule
#6: Carpe Corpus
#7: Fade Out
#8: Kiss of Death

#9: Ghost Town
#10: Bite Club
#11: Last Breath
#12: Black Dawn

#13: Bitter Blood
#14: Fall of Night
#15: Daylighters

If you like the Morganville Series, you should try these!

No comments:

Post a Comment